COURT FEES IN A DIVORCE CASE IN FLORIDA
Updated: Nov 22, 2019
Filing a case in Family Court can be expensive. This is not just because of the cost of hiring an attorney, but also because of court costs and fees. Court fees are the costs you pay when you file a case or motion with the court.
How much a Divorce could cost to finalize depends on various factors such as the issues involved, the complexity of the case, and the co-operation of the parties. Here, we will focus on some of the fees charged in the Miami-Dade County and Broward County courts.
THE INITIAL FILING IN A DIVORCE
The first filing in a Divorce is called a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage. Filing this petition initiates the case and the party who files will be required to pay the Clerk of Court a filing fee of $409. This is the most costly court fee, but if you qualify for indigent status, you can perhaps get a waiver of fees, as discussed in more detail below.
FEE FOR ISSUING SUMMONS AND SERVICE OF PROCESS
If you need to serve the opposing party, the Clerk of Court will charge a $10 service charge to issue a summons. Once issued, the opposing party must be served by either a licensed process server or a deputy from the sheriff’s office. The cost of serving process is not a court cost, however it is required because in Florida a party to an action cannot personally serve the other party. A process server will usually charge about $30 to $40. The sheriff’s office will typically charge $40. These estimates assume that the service is local. Also, if the opposing party files a waver and accepts service, the cost of serving process can be waved.
FEE FOR FILING A MOTION THAT REOPENS A DIVORCE CASE
If you have already finalized your divorce and want to modify or enforce the final judgment, the fee for filing the motion that re-opens the case will be $50. This might include modification of property division, spousal support, child support, child support or visitation, or a petition for relocation. Such a motion might be a cheaper alternative to filing an appeal, but would require the moving party to show a substantial change in their circumstances.
OTHER FEES AND COSTS
There may also be other court fees and cost, for example fees for mediation, or costs for photocopying or certifying public documents. For information on fees and costs not discussed here, see the Broward County Clerk and Miami-Dade County Clerk fee schedules. Check the county clerk fee schedule to make sure that the amounts mentioned here are still current.
WAVERS FOR INDIGENT STATUS
If you cannot afford to pay the court fees, you can petition the court to wave the filing fees by filing an Application for Determination of Indigent Status with the Clerk of Court. If you qualify, you would still have to pay a $25 administrative fee and the Clerk must enroll you in a payment plan. See Florida Statutes § 28.246 for more information on the payment plan. If the court denies your application, the court will require you to pay the filing fees.
The fees we have discussed are court fees, but if you decide to hire an attorney to defend your interests, there are generally three types of attorney fee structures. First, in a domestic relations case in Florida, such as a divorce action, an attorney is not allowed to charge on a contingent basis. In other words, an attorney cannot make his or her fees depend on the outcome of your case.
Second, an attorney may charge a fixed fee. This is more likely in an uncontested divorce because the amount of work required should fall within in a predictable range. Fixed fees, however, may come to include graduated hourly fees if, for example, your case becomes more complicated because a party decides to contest your case.
Lastly, an attorney may charge on an hourly basis. How much an attorney may change depends the attorney, the complexity of the case, and various other factors. Either way, if you are going to sign an attorney-client agreement, make sure to read the fees and costs sections closely to understand how you are going to be charged for representation and what services are and are not included in those charges.
Michael N. Bress, Esq. is managing attorney at BRESS LAW FIRM, PLLC, a Family Law and Landlord-Tenant Law firm located in Aventura, Florida, serving clients throughout Miami-Dade and Broward. You can contact Bress Law Firm, PLLC. at (954) 336-8049, by email at Michael@BressLaw.Com, or go to the Bress Law Firm website at BRESSLAW.COM.
FAMILY LAW | LANDLORD-TENANT LAW
SERVING MIAMI-DADE AND BROWARD
[BY APPOINTMENT ONLY]
The information you obtain at BressLaw.Com or in this article is not necessarily current, nor is intended to be legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. You are welcome to contact us about a legal matter via. Phone, Letter, or Electronic Mail. Contacting the Bress Law Firm, PLLC does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established. Our law firm, however, treats all client information as if confidential.
Mortgage Calculator MortgageCalculator.Org
ⓒ 2019 Bress Law Firm, PLLC.